The First In Synthetics
Free Product Catalogue Info on Becoming a Dealer Open A Business Account Amsoil Online Store
V-Twin & Big Bikes Commercial & Industrial Racing Info Automotive Section
Home Page Amsoil Products News & Technical Articles Truck & Fleet

Mike LaRocco: 
2000 World Supercross Champion!

2000 World Supercross Series, Leipzig, GERMANY


AMSOIL Rider Mike LaRocco

Mike LaRocco 2000 World Supercross ChampionMike LaRocco earned professional career championship number 3 the weekend of November 25-26, his first in Supercross racing. And, in typical LaRocco fashion, he made sure that he did it in his inimitable come-from-behind style.

With the World Supercross Championship shortened to just two rounds, there was no room for error in order to secure the championship. LaRocco was situated well in the points standing after finishing second at round 1 in France and entered the German round with a good shot at the title.

All hope for "The Predator" seemed lost just minutes into the round 2 main event, however, when he went down on the third lap after running in second. Remounting in 17th place, LaRocco seemingly had too much ground to make up with only 17 laps remaining. But, just as he has done for nearly a dozen seasons of professional racing, the Indiana native put his head down and went on the attack. Charging through the field and picking off rider after rider, LaRocco rode with a blinding intensity that found him in 2nd place by the checkered flag.

Afterward, LaRocco said, "I didn't know my position, and I was giving 110% during the race...I wanted to take the title."

And take it he did, adding this Supercross Championship to his 2 AMA National Motocross Championship titles. He now looks forward to carrying this momentum wit him to the first AMA Supercross of the season in Anaheim, CA, on January 6, 2001.

250 Main Event Results: Final Point Standings:
1. Jeremy McGrath - USA - YAM 1. Mike Larocco - 40
2. Mike LaRocco - USA - HON 2. Greg Albertyn - 29
3. Thierry Bethys - FRA - HON 3. Thierry Bethys - 26
4. Greg Albertyn - S. AFRICA - SUZ 4. Jeremy McGrath - 25
5. Joshua Coppins - N. ZEALAND - SUZ 5. David Vuillemin - 25
6. Jussi Vehvilainen - FIN - HON 6. Joshua Coppins - 24
7. Pierrick Paget - FRA - HON 7. Pierrick Paget - 18
8. Joaquim Rodriguez - POR - HON 8. Rodrig Thain - 17
9. Jerome Hemery - FRA - KAW 9. Joaquim Rodriguez - 14
10. Rodrig Thain - FRA - SUZ 10. Jussi Vehvilainen - 10

Back To Main Supercross Page


© Copyright 1996 - 2016 AMSOIL INC. All rights reserved.